NYC, Chaos and glow

What on Earth is New York City?

Well… it is one those things no one really knows how to explain. And, to be honest, no one really needs to. It just freaking is.

Love it or hate it, heaven and hell.

For me, it was the place that changed everything.

In early 2014 my mom said I could go to The city to be with some friends of our family. It would be my second solo trip abroad and, unlikely to the first one, two years earlier, I wasn’t dying of excitement.

I was happy. Just happy. I mean, I love traveling, no matter where to and seeing friends is always nice. But my ideology at the time just didn’t go with The U.S. at all.

How judgmental is that, huh? The whole “get out of your comfort zone” story is a prejudice killer, no matter how cliché it may sound.

On the first day of July I got on the plane with no expectations at all. I was 16 at the time.

And then… well, then New York happened.

I was fascinated from the very first second. Fascinated with how things flow and the hurry and the magic and the uglyness and the hype and weird stuff and fancy stuff and… everything at all! I didn’t know where to look at. The whole world was spinning around me, not because I was the center of it, but because all possible things were happening in that exact place at that exact time. I could feel the “If we make it there, we can make it everywhere” spirit in the freaking air among with the Taxi smoke.

In NYC everything’s ephemeral and that’s what makes you love it forever. You can be whoever the hell you want to without the fear of embarrassing yourself. There’s another 8 million weirdos walking around, so no one will spend too long staring and, even if they want to, someone behind them will just tell them to hurry up cause they’re walking way too slow.

This trip changed my life. After my time there, I just knew what I wanted to do and who I wanted to be, and, most importantly, I knew both of them should be in constant change. That’s when I noticed the urge I had to see the world and learn and exchange.

I am still under New York’s spell and, since it’s up to me, I’ll always be.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with Rookie3Processed with VSCO with j4 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a7 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a9 presetProcessed with VSCO with f3 presetProcessed with VSCO with a7 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with 6 preset13141516Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a9 presetProcessed with VSCO with 8 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a7 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with b4 preset26Processed with VSCO with e3 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a2 presetProcessed with RookieProcessed with VSCO with a9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c8 presetProcessed with VSCO with f1 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with RookieIMG_4081Processed with Rookie

One thought on “NYC, Chaos and glow

Leave a Reply

