Analog anatomy

The other day I was talking to a very dear friend of mine and we were questioning some of our habits.

We buy vinyls even though we can download everything, we like analog photography when our Iphone cameras are pretty good… and why is that?

After thinking for a bit I came to a conclusion that goes beyond the classical answer (the one that says we’re just hipsters) and for that, I’m sorry, but I’m gonna have to quote The Little Prince when he learns from the fox what it is to tame.

“It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.”

That may not be so clear for the ones who don’t actually know the story, but every little bit of attention and love you put into something makes it special forever.

A few days before leaving Germany (a place I learnt to love a lot and call home) I bought some of those disposable cameras (Funsaver from Kodak) that are really trashy but fun to use.

I took a billion pics of my farewell moments and only got them developed after some time being back in Brazil.

When I saw the pictures I cried like a baby again, again. It was like living everything once more. No matter how trashy the quality of the pictures was, I saved those moments forever and they’ll remain special for the rest of my life.

8
Here comes the sun – Mon in Braunschweig
01
FDP – Amy in Düsseldorf
21
A flew over the cuckoo’s nest – Braunschweig
2
Dancing with Che – Me and Amy in Bochum
3
Please – me in Branschweig
13
Dress code – Braunschweig
31
Kool and the gang – Cheeks, Stratton, Billie and Amy in Düsseldorf
5
Home sweet home – Bochum
22
Come on Barbie, let’s go partying – Caito and Cheeks in Düsseldorf
9
You say “stop” and I say “go, go, go!” – Bochum
4
Vinyl is forever – Resi in Bochum
19
It’s snowing man, Hallelujah – Mon and I in Salzgitter
25
The weird things my scanner does that end up looking kinda rad – Billie and Caito in Düsseldorf
15
Playhouse ninja – me in Braunschweig
10
Pastel – Braunschweig
11
Honeypie – Cheeks in Bochum
32
Happy ending – Bochum
29
Friend’s hand – Billie in Düsseldorf
18
Color on the walls – Resi in Bochum
7
Take me home – me in Bochum
23
Cool Kids – Bochum

 

Leave a Reply

